2014 SLO Marathon Selects Roger Warnes For its Hall of Fame


Roger Warnes has been selected by the San Luis Obispo Marathon, Half Marathon + 5K as the 2014 inductee into the San Luis Obispo Marathon Hall of Fame. The designation is meant to recognize a person/people who have contributed significantly to the running community of San Luis Obispo through competition, initiative, generosity in education, coaching and personal passion for the sport.

Locally, Warnes is best known as the face of the SLO Roadrunners Running & Triathlon Club, a group that was first formed in 1976 through the SLO Recreation Department. Since that time, hundreds of runners have come under Warnes’ tutelage. He has coached approximately 150 Ironman athletes and an equal number of Boston Marathon participants, as well as myriads of other athletes in numerous running and triathlon events.

A San Luis Obispo native, Warnes attended SLO High School and Cal Poly University, earning a degree in Physical Education. A national junior’s runner, Warnes was sidelined by a severe Achilles tendon injury early and diverted his passion for running into coaching. Due to his injury, he developed a great interest and study in biomechanics, something he taught his athletes over the years. Warnes says he is blessed to be able to be a part of the sport he loves so much and help others reach their goals.

In addition to the Roadrunners Club, Warnes has also coached the Cal Poly Triathlon Club to a national championship, a youth division that produced National Ironkids champions and the Atascadero Greyhounds.

For over seven years, Warnes wrote a popular column for the Tribune, answering readers’ questions about training, racing and the biomechanics of running.

Warnes is inspired by Bill Bowerman, the University of Oregon head track coach who once said, “God determines how fast you will run; I can only help with the mechanics.”

Warnes will be honored with a short ceremony on the Awards Stage at the 2014 San Luis Obispo Marathon, Half Marathon + 5K, presented by LeftLaneSports.com on April 27th at 9:45 am. He joins the Hall of Fame alongside past honorees Brian Waterbury, Pete Dorn and Greg Hind.